Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

Customer Reviews

Here’s what some satisfied customers have to say. Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

Your company was awesome to work with. The installers were very professional and kind and respectful, and they cleaned up everything . It was great doing business with your company!!!

Jacks, 06/19/2021

We chose Roll-A-Guard to install full-home hurricane shutters after meeting with co-owner Sandra and engaging in multiple communications requiring new measurements, decision to add additional units and a secondary bid visit. Their quick response time and attention to detail instilled confidence that this family-owned business was the right contractor for a investment of this nature. And they are nice folks. The installation crew - including relatives in this family business - was professional, worked hard, were careful and knew what they were doing. We find the shutters and tracks - about four months in now - to be of excellent quality. There has been two minor post-installation issues and both were addressed rapidly and completely with on-site correction in about 24 hours. They’ve proven that they care about their customers and won’t disappear or put you to the back of the queue after install. Customer service via phone is excellent; pleasant, thorough and fast to respond. I even received a call from one of the lead installers who was ready to come over until we agreed I had solved the issue on my own. Rolling storm shutters are no cheap investment. Given our potential exposure to severe elements, we choose a permanent and somewhat pricey solution. Nonetheless, we are very happy with Roll-A-Guard. They’ve done everything as promised and all follow-up issues and calls were rapidly addressed. I wish every contractor understood that their business’s future is as dependent on the satisfied customer whose job is done as the next prospect yet to sign. In sum; excellent quality and company.

Hoeppner, 04/27/2021

Reputable Company.............Andy and Sandy are ++++ Professional/Honest and Deliver an Outstanding Product. Had a few questions re. Install which were handled/managed in a timely manner. Would Highly Recommend both Sandy/Andy Roll A Guard/Clearwater, Fl.

Eagle C&I - S. Aldrete, 04/07/2020

I can’t say enough good things about this company. Literally EVERYONE I dealt with was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Starting with coming out for an estimate, they did everything they said they were going to do when they were supposed to do it. The installers took away all the old shutter tracks too. My shutters were done earlier even than I was told so they went up earlier. Other companies should take note of the business ethics of this local family run business. If I could give them 10 stars I would.

Debra Carpenter, 10/25/2019

Thanks for the opportunity to rate the fabulous service!

Deborah Theep, 10/24/2019

Too bad they have one general rating....it does not allow for different areas of this job to be rated. So I will start by saying that this rating will be detailed and only reflect my experiences.
 
SALES AND ESTIMATION: *****- five star--Sandra was very knowledgable, easy to communicate with, personable. Her ability to explain the company's program, time line, etc was greatly appreciated. Her willingness to listen to my requests combined with her flexibility during my unsure moments was a relief.
 
OFFICE contact and OFFICE COMMUNICATION: *****-five star--Cassidy is a professional and attentive part of the experience. No matter what the communication, issue, concern, etc. she was always beyond pleasant and welcoming.
 
INSTALLATION SERVICES: ***1/2-- three and 1/2 stars. The installers were friendly and gave me permission to observe the installation. I am glad I did. There were two issues that came about and I mention them ONLY for the readers to be aware that uncommon things do happen inspite of this company's check and double check of measurements. I have what is called an aquarium window. That shape combined with your typical "not all walls are square and completely perfect" added to the degree of difficulty. Then there was my BIGGEST concern was the accordian shutters to clear the line of site without encroaching into the field of vision and was CLEARLY stated at time of estimation. The installers really had a time of it and after multiple attempts, multiple cuts, etc. did finally accomplish the installation but not as originally requested or desired. By this time, some agitation played into the scene, a call to Andy, the owner, some discussion and ultimately resolution acceptable to both parties. As an owner, I stress that any owner MAKE sure EVERYONE is on the same page...from drawings to collaborating with the installers on what the OWNER expected PRIOR to start of installation. ALSO, I had twin glass doors that I was having shuttered. Yes they were supposed to be twin but it turns out, that although they were the same size and configuration, the threshold ledge was shorter on one than the other...which was not discovered until install day. However, one of the installers had a great idea which was passed on to the owner who cleared it with the code guidelines and problem solved...with a little extra effort. My installation should have taken one day....ended up taking a full two days which was another problem for me...but it is what it is. When Andy and I finally got to a point of calm communication, Andy came through for me on an acceptable level. His rating is below.
 
OWNER and GO-TO GUY - ANDY--****-- four stars-- As described above, Andy ultimately came through for me. My rating merely reflects the effort and communication getting there. I do have to say that All in ALL, Andy tries sincerely to put the customer first, but this job became very trying when it went into the second day. Running a business and being a Go-to Guy by his employees (and their opinions) and by the customer (and their concerns)can be stressful.
 
PRODUCT RATING :***** five star--once installed, the shutters felt secure, functioned as described and actually worked well cosmetically.
 
REAL OVERALL RATING : ****1/2 - four and 1/2 stars.

WOULD I GO WITH THIS COMPANY AGAIN? Absolutely

Jeanette, 10/17/2019

Great working with Cassidy, she was very helpful getting the condo to sign off on all the paperwork,the guys came to install on the day and time she said they would. They left the house clean and picked up, and the shutters look great. Thanks, Mike & Grace

Mike McCarthy, 08/22/2019

From beginning to end Roll A Guard were extremely professional. They were fast and clean. I was very Leary about putting the shutters on the front of our house. I thought they would detract from our homes curb appeal. I could not have been more wrong. They look great! I thought we were going to have to paint the boxes. Luck have it, my trim paint color (Scott’s brand Beachcomber 20YY 58/082) was almost a perfect match for the beige shutters. My daughter-in-law said she did not even notice them at 1st. The home feels so much more solid. They are great during full moons to bring down. We use them much more than I thought I would. My husband and I highly recommend this product and company.

Jill Conson, Apollo Beach, FL, 07/22/2019

We had Roll-a-Guard install shutters at townhouse. They had received great recommendations from neighbors in complex who previously used their services. Sandra, Andy and installation team were first class from initial evaluation to completion of project. Very competent installation crew. Quick and neat. We could not be more pleased with their work.

Bill Stafford, 05/23/2019

My wife and I met with Sandy after meeting with several other vendors. Sandy was very professional and also very knowledgeable about their product. She verified my initial dimensions for both sides of the lanai. Their pricing was very competitive. Three weeks later, Andy called to schedule an appointment to install the shutters. He and his crew arrived on time and finished the installation the same day which included providing electricity to the shutters. His crew cleaned up after themselves and left the are very neat. The shutters operate very smoothly. The footprint of the shutter boxes are minimal and do not detract from the appearance of the villa. We are very pleased with Roll-A-Guard, the people and their product. We readily recommend them to anyone considering installing hurricane shutters.

Charles Fox, 04/29/2019

Buying these shutters was my first experience. I called six providers and after going through the sales process it was evident Roll-A-Guard was far and above the others, and the best was best was yet to come. When the installation date arrived, they were right there, on time, and prepared. Installed our shutters in less than a week. They were installed professionally, with no mess. I recommend you use Roll-A-Guard for all your shutter needs.

John Barlow, 03/22/2019

We live in north Carrollwood and our primary concern was with flying debris, with a lot of glass exposure. We opted for the fabric shades on the first floor, easily installed before the weather hits and easy to see through and to allow light in when up. On the second floor we went with Bahama shutters, for ease of closure and shade for the second floor from UV. The shutters were custom matched to the house trim and finish off the street appearance. Our surprise was that the shutters do not impair, but enhance, the view out from inside the house. Your products are light and easy to set up for storms, and your advice and help was right on, from beginning to end. This is a whole lot cheaper than impact windows.

Bill Zuger, 02/18/2019

A very Professional experience. The folks in the office together with the installing crew were very professional. This is the way all businesses should operate. A request for a quote was called in, a reasonable price given, followed by an on time installation that left no regrets. I am pleased to advertise for this Company. They really do a wonderful job from beginning to the installation, including the cleanup. A job well done!

Bert Palmer, Bartow, FL, 02/09/2019

Our newly installed shutters from Roll a Guard worked as designed. The winds from Irma were the strongest we had ever faced and our shutters held up as promised, providing a huge sense of security.

Ron & Sheila, St Pete Beach, FL, 09/12/2017

A project well done. Everyone I have had dealings with at Roll-A-Guard were very professional and well versed in their product. The shutters on the balcony porch look and work fantastic. Andy, his wife and crew members were all 100%. Everything they said they would do they did. Thanks for a great job.

Mike Bruce, St Petersburg, FL, 08/28/2017

We are very pleased with our hurricane shutters. They look and work great. The owners and all the employees did an excellent job. When a couple small issues came up they were quickly resolved. We have already recommended this company to others.

Jim & Debbie Krchmar, Clearwater Beach, FL, 08/12/2017

We could not have asked for more in a service company. Andy and his team came out and replace all of our original shutters. The job took longer than expected because the original electrical installation was not up to code. Andy went to pain staking lengths to replace the necessary wires and connections, refusing to charge for the extra time. The attention to detail to assure the shutters were installed properly was appreciated and the installation crew was great. They were courteous and mindful of working in a condo setting. We would highly recommend Roll a Guard to anyone looking for hurricane shutters.

Ron & Sheila Geer, St Pete Beach, FL, 08/12/2017

Excellent job. Everyone, from the office to the installers were very friendly and capable. The shutters work flawlessly

Barry Rosenberg, Largo, FL, 08/18/2016

It's the people that stand out with this company...Sandra, Andy, Cassidy, and the installation crew were all efficient and friendly. I was on a tight schedule and they were able to accommodate me. I love the the motorized shutter on my condo balcony. It is more than storm protection, and I have used it to keep out the light and sun as needed. I would call them again without hesitation.

Linda Wathen, South Pasadena, FL, 08/02/2016

I would highly recommend this company. They were professional from start to finish. They showed up each day on time. My first day was when tropical storm colin arrived. They still came and worked inside doing the electrical and also on an enclosed area on the balcony. They were courteous and always made sure to clean up afterwards. They returned phone calls promptly. The shutters are awesome. The motor is so quiet, my neighbor came over to see them. She was standing right next to me and was talking and did not even realize I was putting it down. Her comment, "they are so quiet". ROLL A GUARD was so easy to work with on so many levels from the day Sandra came out to show me the options with the shutters to the final day of the installation. I would highly recommend them. It is a quality product that exceeds expectations.

Pat, Saint Petersburg, FL, 06/10/2016

Crew was on time, cleaned up after each day's. Very professional. Did exactly what they committed to do. No hassles.

Steve, Redington Shores, FL, 05/23/2016

The company had come highly recommended to us, and we were not disappointed. Excellent service and product quality.

Deb & Dave Aune, Clearwater, FL, 05/11/2016

I needed a hurricane shutter for a 2 car garage and Roll-a-Gard even though out of this area came and did the job. All the work was done extremely well and left the work-site as it was before they started.

Roger, Chevrette, FL, 05/10/2016

We have used Roll-a-Guard for years, both for maintenance of our hurricane shutters and, most recently, for replacement of one of our shutters. They are responsive, polite and hard-working. Their office staff is great - really - a quick phone call and great follow up. We would recommend this company to anyone!

Ron and Sheila Geer, St Pete Beach, FL, 08/23/2015

Sandra came out and described all the possible scenarios with us in a very professional manner. We had already had one other company come and give us an estimate, but after talking to Sandra we knew that they had our best interest at heart. The installers did a fantastic job and never stopped working until they had completed the installation. We would highly recommend Roll-A-Guard!

Sharon Staudinger, Safety Harbor, FL, 04/07/2015

They came when they said that would, did an outstanding job with the installation, were informative and instructed me in the use of the shutters. I was more than satisfied. Also, I had intended to buy hurricane proof material. I was informed that I might like shutters for the area where I needed them. THEY WERE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT...I AM SO GLAD I LISTENED

Sister Carole M. Bouchard, SSC, New Port Richey, FL, 03/03/2015

Roll-A-Guard is an outstanding company to work with. They exceeded our expecations. Work was done as estimated.

Ken, Madeira Beach, FL, 11/05/2014

Wanted simple way to protect home if a hurricane comes a calling, and needed it easy to install by one person. Invested in fabric screens for all 16 areas needing cover. Got quotes from 5 suppliers, with Roll-a-Guard not the least expensive, but showing why their product was better. Sandra and Cassidy did a great job setting it up. Andy came out and did the measuring himself - excellent discussion about why and how to do it right. Installation was done very well by the crew - delivered as promised. They showed me how to install the screens and were very helpful explaining what was done to satisfy the permit. I was able to install all 16 screens ranging from 3' wide to 11' wide with a short ladder and done in about 2.5 hours. Maybe more importantly, the take down happened in less than 2 hours, stored away in a box in garage. Very happy with our selection! Would recommend Roll-a-Guard for the excellent support, all the way from office handling of paperwork to the sales process and professional installation.

Franc, Largo, FL, 09/28/2014

From beginning to end, Roll A Guard proved themselves to be unbelievably efficient and very professional. When Sandra came to meet us at our condo for our appointment, she spent time discussing all options with us for our corner unit condo that needed new shutters. After making our decision, Andy came to measure and this was handled long distance, as we were 1500 miles away at the time. Through emails and phone calls with Cassidy and Sandy, the entire process and paper work was perfect. Roll A Guard handled all permits and permission papers from our condo complex. When it was time to install the shutters, we flew down, after arrangements were made online. The crew, led by Frank, was professional, timely, meticulous, and honest. They worked during condo hours and finished the work in a few days. We love our new shutters, and we love Roll A Guard and highly recommend them. They are the best! Thank you.

Margie Shulman, Gulfport, FL, 09/27/2014

Roll A Guard are great people selling great products at fair prices. Sandra sells you what you need, Andy checks the details, Frank and Brandon do the install tending to every detail always intent on pleasing the customer and Cassidy is the glue holding everybody together and keeping the group focused. What a great team of professionals. I'm out of windows so I will miss seeing everyone.

Gary Ball, Tarpon Springs, FL, 09/26/2014

Roll-a-Guard continues to do a wonderful job from start to finish. This was the 5th property that they've installed electric storm shutters for me, after removing manual ones. They had to install four separate shutters on one end-unit balcony. They got it done in just over two work days. They were efficient and professional and worked through their entire time they were here at Shipwatch One.

Wendell F. Schott, Largo, FL, 09/24/2014

We have been fortunate to have found the owner of ROLL A GUARD - Andy- on the internet yesterday when we had a very difficult problem with one of our storm shutters.
 
Andy responded himself almost immediately and said that worst case we would need a new shutter and quoted a very reasonable price - BUT he wanted to explore other options. He was made aware, however, that we were ready to replace the shutter if this was necessary.
 
Today he was back with help and, in about an hour, had repaired the shutter at a very reasonable cost, saving us thousands of dollars.
 
It is obvious that Andy places the needs of his customers above the quest for dollars. He is courteous, up front and honest. We feel compelled to document this experience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss our experience with anyone considering this firm.

Places Customer Needs First, Largo, FL, 09/23/2014

Contact Us for a Free Estimate!